Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Recounts Hospital Negligence And How His Wife Passed After Birthing Baby Weighing 4.2kg

Tuesday, December 23, 2025

Man Recounts Hospital Negligence And How His Wife Passed After Birthing Baby Weighing 4.2kg

OH MY GOD!!!!
NO!!!
NO!!
NO!!!

THE AGONY OF LOSING MY BELOVED AND NEWLY WEDDED WIFE AT GYNESCOPE SPECIALIST HOSPITAL, LEKKI

My wife went to Gynescope Specialist Hospital, Lekki for childbirth and died from mismanaged Primary Postpartum Hemorrhage (PPH). The same hospital where she registered and had her antenatal care without any underlying illness.

In her third trimester, during one of the antenatal visits, the Consultant and attending doctor, Dr. Joseph Aliyu Yahaya, disclosed the considerable size of the baby. We raised concerns regarding safe delivery options and the possibility of an elective Cesarean Section (CS) owing to the fetal size. The Consultant dismissed CS and insisted on SVD.

On Wednesday, 3rd December 2025, my wife went into labour. The Consultant performed episiotomy on my her, and our baby was delivered weighing 4.2KG. Immediately after delivery, the consultant left the labour ward and my wife’s episiorrhaphy was done by his subordinate.

My wife complained of a dripping sensation inside her body. After observation, the Consultant noted that the vulva was unusually swollen and the sutures were too tight. The Consultant re-sutured her. After this second procedure, my wife looked lifeless, pale, and unconscious for hours, while the bleeding continued unabated.
The Consultant confirmed she was bleeding internally yet took no active steps in referring or seeking specialist help outside the primary facility. There was a clear 15-hour window between the delivery of our baby and my wife’s eventual passing. Blood transfusion was done without first identifying and repairing the source of bleeding.

At about 3:00 a.m. on Thursday, 4th December 2025, my wife complained of discomfort and began convulsing. It is important to note that at this critical moment, no medical personnel were in sight. Minutes after I screamed for help, doctors and nurses arrived from the ground floor. There was notably no oxygen in the ward where my wife was admitted. 

At this time, I requested for a transfer of my wife to another facility, but the Consultant said no facility would accept her without a pulse. Minutes later, the Consultant then agreed for her to be moved.

MY OBSERVATIONS DURING THE EVACUATION OF MY WIFE

Firstly, the Hospital brought a stretcher without side guards or straps to evacuate my wife. While moving her, she fell off the stretcher onto the hard floor of the tiled walkway on the 3rd floor. (I have challenged the Hospital to release the undoctored CCTV footage of the 3rd floor showing when my wife was being stretched out in the early hours of Thursday, 4th December 2025).

I rushed to help lift her back up. The staff seemed confused about whether to use the stairs or elevator, thereby wasting valuable time during such an emergency.
Secondly, upon reaching the ground floor, I expected the ambulance to be positioned at the entrance of the hospital door, ready to receive her. Sadly, the ambulance was stationed about 80 metres away, still covered in a tarpaulin showing no readiness. Only then was the cover removed. 

When I asked the driver to open the ambulance, I heard the most shocking thing - the keys were with Human Resources (HR) Manager. It took considerable time to retrieve the keys. When the driver finally opened the bus, he stated he needed to connect the battery. Throughout this chaos, my wife lay in the open on a stretcher, unattended and without oxygen.

Thirdly, the ambulance finally took off. I insisted the Consultant accompany her as the most experienced personnel available. I drove behind the ambulance, which stopped twice on the way. Upon reaching Lagos Island from Ikate, a trip of about 15 minutes giving the time of the night, I noticed the ambulance appeared lost. 

I overtook them to inquire, and a nurse informed me they were heading to "Marina." Suspecting they meant a government hospital on Broad Street, I then led them to Lagos Island Maternity Hospital (LIMH), where my wife was pronounced Dead on Arrival. LIMH issued a note for her body to be deposited at the General Hospital morgue.

Gynescope Specialist Hospital reluctantly issued a death certificate claiming the cause of death was Cardiac Arrest. However, my wife’s body was taken to the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH) for an autopsy as part of the Coroner’s Inquest. LUTH has now issued a death certificate clearly stating the cause of death to be Hemorrhagic Shock, directly contradicting the Hospital’s claim.

STEPS TAKEN
I have written to the Lagos State Government through the Hon. Commissioner for Health, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health and Permanent Secretary, Health Service Commission. I have also petitioned the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN), calling for a thorough investigation into the events of 3rd–4th December 2025 at Gynescope Specialist Hospital, and the circumstances under which my wife painfully lost her life. Where applicable, appropriate sanctions and/or criminal prosecution be undertaken.
I demand accountability.
#MedicalNegligence
#JusticeForLovelyn
Signed:
Justice John.e

from Facebook

42 comments:

1. Who Birth A Baby This Big At 4.2kg Smh ,First Delivery For that Matter Haba Nahhhhhh..
    She And Her Husband Allow It
    So Sad
    That Doctor Is From The Pit Of Hell
    The Hospital Should Be Burnt To Ashes
    May God Rest Her Soul

1. Are you serious
      What do you mean they allowed it?
      Do they know know better than the doctor

2. Many babies weighing from 4.0kg are booked for C&S immediately. This is a sad death 😨

3. Most times the doctors and patients dont know, especially if scan wasnt done few days to delivery.
      Chika, my boy also weighed 4.2kg and it was so traumatic.....healing took a long time and some people thought i was pretending to be sick.....till now I still have phobia for anything Labour.

May her soul rest in peace.

4. Chikalicious all my boys weights 4.5kg while the girls 4.2kg..
      This is a sad and painful death. Oh my God 😭

5. Really @ Bigmama? 4.5kg?
      Did you birth them vaginally?

2. I read one of his interviews where he said the blood started gushing out non-stop after they cut the placenta. As they were doing blood transfusion for her, the blood was gushing out, one time they wanted to turn his wife, blood gushed out and splashed on the wall like tap. I was weeping, seriously.
    I also read where the hospital said their staff donated blood to her. Why did you keep transfusing blood without fixing what was causing the bleeding? If you were not capable to fix it why did you not transfer her to a better hospital earlier?
    Her death was an avoidable one and it really hurts badly.
    In a sane country, the medical license of that doctor would be revoked
    The hospital would be sealed off for a long time and made to pay damages

3. This story gives me chills anywhere I see it.
    This part makes my angry the most.
    "We raised concerns regarding safe delivery options and the possibility of an elective Cesarean Section (CS) owing to the fetal size. The Consultant dismissed CS and insisted on SVD."

You Mr husband, why did you agree for her to deliver that baby via SVD? A first child weighing 4.2kg?
    If doctor was foolish, why did you not insist? My sister's baby was 4kg but she wasn't allowed to push it out
    Your wife was also allowed to labour for more than 24 hours according to what I read elsewhere, a big baby struggling to come out for more than 24 hours, some damages had already been done in her womb.
    2cm dilated on the first day, 4cm on the second day, oh she must have really suffered 😭

I really feel for the poor baby without a mum.
    She could have pleaded to be operated on but trust naija people to call her 'lazy', she could have asked you to take her to another hospital when the bleeding persisted, before she passed out. Well, you wouldn't have listened if you are one of those stubborn naija men.
    May her soul rest in peace.
    May justice prevail.

1. C section is not automatic for 4.2kg
      Doctor wasn’t necessarily wrong unless other circumstances dictated otherwise

2. This story messed up my afternoon 😭

3. Nigerians have a long way to go. Don't blame her for not insisting on CS after doctor certified her ok.
      I have personally been called lazy for undergoing emergency CS during delivery. My inlaws said it and my husband supported them. I will never forget it.
      After going to hell and back, they called me lazy. They will see. I'm waiting for them in future.

4. Bleeding is a common thing in childbirth and if it becomes unstoppable, the woman dies. It can be caused by many factors. When it becomes uncontrollable even big teaching hospitals become helpless in such situations, leading to fatality.
    May her soul rest in peace .

1. Exactly, same happened to me before only God took control. Very painful experience, may God console the husband.

2. Such sacrifice to bring forth new life 😨
      And one Phool will be asking what she brings to the table! 😡

5. I am speechless
    Occasions like this make me thank God for my life, cuz I am not better than this woman. My fellow woman!! Doing what she was meant to do and not being able to make it due to negligence.

Going into the labour room and coming out alive is a miracle.

These hospitals eh, I don't know if is tiredness or they are short staffed, I can't just tell, many deaths could have been avoided God knows.

6. I hate maternal deaths.
    It's saddens me to see a family lose their mum during childbirth 😥

May her soul rest in peace 👏🕊️

7. Oh GOD this is so sad to read
    May her soul rest in peace

8. O God . Please have mercy. This is too much. We not grateful enough Lord forgive us. Bro take heart

9. This is so sad 😢😢
    Childbirth no be joke oo...if u come out alive and ur baby with no complications..u really don't know what God did for u..

May her soul rest in peace

10. This is so painful
    A young lady full of life cut short in her prime because of negligence and carelessness.
    They should sue and make an example out of them.
    It won't bring her back but it will serve as a deterrent to others!

11. This is heartbreaking 😭
    Why did the doctor allowed her to birth such a big baby as a first timer. That's negligence on their part.
    Oga sue them!

12. Whenever things like this happens it breaks my heart.

13. This was one of the most painful stories I've read this year. May God rest her soul 🙏🙏

14. The government have to step in here. Private hospitals have to be inspected periodically for their facilities and the licenses of their personnel verified. There have been cases of fake doctors and nurses in private hospitals in the north and I am sure other parts of Nigeria. There are some maternity hospitals that are death traps mere looking at them. This hospital has to be held accountable so they can be more careful in future and others can learn. My condolences to the family of the departed.

1. This!!!
      Amen to your prayers.

Please stay away from private hospitals because of issues like this. Should things go south, they'll still take you to the public option. They never have equipment or personnel that you need. They are obviously not trained to respond to emergency eg the stairs vs lift, gurney without rails, no oxygen incidents.

2. I’m not a big fan of private hospitals that are not all around hospitals with all departments on deck. Many enter the private hospital industry solely for money making purposes, and they are fine until real emergencies happen. Then they lack good ambulatory services and connections to a larger hospital with the ability to prioritize the patient upon arrival.

Most private hospitals are just glorified clinics. The one my aunt was in didn’t even have disposable underwear and the blood drawn still had to be taken to the lab at the general hospital for diagnosis. Yes, the environment is usually quieter but that’s all.

15. Oh my God!! Have mercy oh Lord!! This is so painful, poor woman! She really suffered pain and still died!! Jesus console her loved ones and may her soul rest in peace. Amen.

16. O my God
    This is so sad and heartbreaking 💔
    May her soul rest in peace 🕊️

17. This was too heartbreaking, I couldn’t even finish reading it. The whole point of a c-section is to prevent the very thing that happened here. This is not 1825 where vaginal delivery is the only option. Hemorrhaging is always a possibility with any delivery, and with one so big she should have been under close monitoring.

This man should not have lost his wife and this baby should have their mother. Too much negligence in this story. Let us learn from this awful incident and be our own advocate. I wish this man peace and comfort to his soul. May God cover this baby in all ways.

18. This is really heart wrenching🥲
    Very avoidable death. The hospital were not pro active enough. So much time wasted dilly dallying on ...
    They need to be taught a great lesson.
    May God comfort the husband.

19. Chai, Chukwu Umunwanyi save us o😭😭, RIP lovelyn. It's so sad.

20. Dr, you need to sue this gentleman for defamation ?or he needs to sue you for criminal negligence. Did you or did you not advice this lady for CS? In the end its left to the patient to choose.

Waiting for more details.