SERIOUS ADVICE NEEDED
Stella please post as chronicles
My husband and I live abroad.
In our previous jobs I earned more than him, but we have always pooled our income together to pay bills, support our family, and build our business.
Before we left Nigeria, my husband’s three sisters were very unkind to me and even extended this behaviour to my children. They constantly reminded me that I was a “stranger” and that they would always be the real family.
I endured a lot from them. They made sure I never felt like a true member of the family. They would even call my husband frequently, including during our intimate moments. They called me “tiny ant” and were confident that I would never amount to anything and that I would end up depending on them for my children’s welfare and school fees, especially at a time when my husband was not doing well.
Since moving abroad, my husband and I have worked extremely hard while raising our children. Things are now going well for us. We have built a growing business based on honesty and transparency.
I handle the accounting and finances, while my husband oversees the technical side. Our goal is to send our children to university without financial stress and give them opportunities despite the challenges of being migrants.
Now, suddenly, my sisters-in-law want to be friendly with me. They present themselves as reaching out, but also suggest to my husband that I am not reciprocating.
I have told my husband that I have forgiven them, but I cannot completely let my guard down because of how they treated me when we had nothing. they still make nasty comments once in a while but I remain polite and cordial, but I am not close or chatty with them.
Recently, I discovered that my husband discusses our day-to-day life with his sisters when I am not present. I asked him not to share information about me or our personal matters with them. He reacted angrily, called me hurtful names, accused me of trying to make him hate his sisters, and said I am bitter and unforgiving.
He then asked that we create boundaries, separate our finances, and limit phone access.
One day, I came home early and he did not realise I was in the house. I overheard him speaking to his sisters. One of them emphasised that they are family and that their parents want them to stay united forever. She then asked him for money for a project and became upset when he said I would know about it.
She told him not to tell me everything, said I was controlling him, and criticised me in other ways.
Since then, our new business plans have stalled. I feel betrayed and my trust in my husband has been shaken, even though I still love him deeply. He is now asking for our joint savings to be divided.
I feel angry and hurt. Part of me is considering selling our properties, dividing the proceeds, giving him what he wants and starting again independently with my children. The business ideas and processes were largely mine, and I manage the financial side. I worry that without strong boundaries, it will be difficult for my husband to save, especially with the influence of his siblings who believe he is now financially successful.
I still love my husband, but I do not know if our marriage can survive the ongoing pressure from his sisters. Financially, I know I would be able to support myself and my children, so my main struggle is emotional. I feel torn between allowing my husband to face the consequences of his choices or fighting to protect our marriage.
Do I talk to my husband about the conversation I heard or do I call them and tell them to stop stressing our marriage?
HMMMM!!!!!
You cannot do any of the two things that you suggested...Telling your husband about your hearing the phone call will not change anything, he will accuse you of monitoring him and will tell them....I appreciate that he has a bond with his sisters but it is not a healthy bond.
How dare you suggest you want to call them to warn them not to stress your marriage? They are talking to their brother who has made himself available to them with details.
Activate your plan B immediately cos if you dont he will wreck the whole business. separate what needs to be separated and let him face the consequences cos thats the only way he will learn....And please note that your marriage will not stand the test of time cos it involves his family......You cannot ask him to choose you over his sisters.
Prepare yourself cos he will give them what he has and come back to beg you when he is empty..do not let him use you!
Let me add small bad advice- Starve him of kpekus small, maybe it will reset his head.hehehehehe

Do not be friends with those snakes. I wouldn't blame you if you go ahead to sell your properties, divide the proceeds, and start again. Your husband is the one giving them leg to behave anyhow.
ReplyDeleteI agree with part A of Stella's pen. This is really serious. Do you believe in God? If so please pray. Have you watched Funke Akindele's Behind the Scenes? It is not always easy to say no to family, but people have to be wise.
DeleteTiny ant, you are wearing the writing on the wall, you are about dust under your shoe.
ReplyDeleteIf he wants to devide the money, DEVIDE IT.
GIVE IT TO HIM
DEM NO DEY ADVISE MAN WEY HIM FAMILY DEY CONTROL.
Make sure you are saving aggressively for yourself and your children. Hopefully, you're not one of those who is burning like rat. Have the number of children you can single handedly take care of, Incase life decides to give you sour kunu.
He is the head of house abi? When when you marry someone who cannot stand as a man , who is always listening to outsiders, it never ends well
Prepare yourself financially and other wise.
Screenshots, recordings, etc.The aim of his sisters is to get rid of you especially as you've refused to play ball and warm up to them.
I wonder how demons expect anyone else apart from fellow demons to like them?
Poster make sure when you separate the finances you document everything and keep receipts, if he loses his own share or if the marriage packs up, he may still be entitled to yours legally! Be wise, consult with a financial expert or lawyer before you divide anything or you will cry premium tears! Good luck!
ReplyDeletePoster na big time ***. Your husband has asked for joint account to be divided and you’re still dilly dallying?. lol. Wake up and smell the roses. It’s cases like this you’ll later hear that someone was unalifed. Let him squander his money in peace oo. Don’t frustrate anyone . Be guided. You build with who wan build with you.
DeleteThis! You need professional advise and wisdom on this matter.
DeleteNever build with men like this. Eventually, his sisters will wreck him don't let them wreck you too. Be very vigilant. Hide your business ideas. Grow on your own. Start enjoying life stop evolving around him .stay alert. That business Grow it bigger without him.
ReplyDeleteIf she gets better than him in the business a lot of resentment will build up. Yet he will forget that he suggested them splitting things up. Poster check well. There may be other reasons he wants to divvy things up now, apart from his sisters. He may just want to make sure you don't get to know where the money is going.
DeletePoster, please let your husband know that you overheard his conversation with his sister and you now understand your position in his life and cant imagine he could say those things to his sister about you his wife. Don't bother calling his sisters but go ahead and divide your finances if you don't entirely know when money is moved out of the account but if you know, stand your ground and say know that you will rather become enemy of everyone than to watch your kids suffer in the future. cut off those his sister, they will never love you, their coming back to be nice to you is because you are doing well against their wish and they are now looking for a way to extort you with their fake love
ReplyDeleteMen like this don't listen or learn until they taste and experience the other side.
ReplyDeleteThey won't learn. I'm sorry, he needs to learn so he can know boundaries. While you prepare yourself, keep praying for him so it's not late.
All the posters above me have spoken well. Split everything, involve a lawyer to protect your interests, write a will(just in case) . If you want to continue in the marriage, split all bills and expenses 50/50. If you can afford an apartment on the side do so. In too many Nigerian marriages, the other party is the outsider ( man or woman). Let us all be wise in our relationships. Most marriages are not ones in which either party should lose themselves completely. Poster choose yourself, its obvious which side your husband has chosen. By the way, don't you have family that needs help too? Even if you come from a comfortable family, send random gifts their way..... e get why. When the chips are down, you also need people in your corner.
ReplyDeleteStella, what do you mean that she cannot ask him to choose between she and his sisters? She ABSOLUTELY can and should! When a man marries, his primary responsibility should be to his wife and the family he creates with her. He leaves his parents and cleaves unto his wife! If OP were dealing with reasonable people, they would never have placed her their brother in this position.
ReplyDeleteOP, please know that you can and should demand that your husband choose his wife and kids. Not to say he shouldn't help his family, no. If he continues to throw you under the bus, then please, by all means, divide your assets and protect your intellectual property by way of copywright, patents, etc. Logic must trump emotions for the time being. Protect your financial freedom and secure your kids' future now!
Please, divide whatever has to be divided and do it quick. That man will not listen to you and he will never listen to the voice of reason. Do what you have to do to save your finances and secure your children's future
ReplyDeleteGood luck 🤞🏾
Don’t call his sisters, that will only make things worse and confirm what they’re saying about you.
ReplyDeleteThis issue is really between you and your husband. Talk to him about what you heard, not to accuse him, but to explain how it made you feel. Tell him you no longer feel like a team, and your privacy and trust are being affected.
Be clear on three things:
-Your marriage needs boundaries: your personal and financial matters shouldn’t be shared with people who disrespect you.
-His request to split finances needs careful discussion, not an emotional decision.
- The name-calling is not acceptable.
You’re not wrong for keeping your distance from his sisters being polite is enough.
Don’t rush to divide assets or walk away yet. First, find out if your husband is willing to protect the marriage and rebuild trust. If he isn’t, then you’ll know your next step, and if you must go that route, involve both financial expert and a lawyer.
Poster, please speak calmly with your husband and divide what needs to be divided. You married him not his sisters. Draw the line now that he is alive.
ReplyDeleteThere is a limit to sibling hold in marriage, your husband may be under some influence that he knows nothing about, while doing the outward drawing of lines, embark on regular fasting to separate your man from his sisters grip which may be unhealthy. You don't need to share this with anyone, take it up with your God,
This Is The Reason I Like Doing Things On My Own oooo..
ReplyDeleteI Hate Stress Abeg Especially From Family....
My Dear Please Do Whatever You Have To Do Before They Collect Your Sweat From Your Hand ooo..
It Is Well With You ...🙏
Share the profit from the business equally,then agree on a percentage both of you should contribute towards the joint account,for the family welfare..then what is remaining should go into each individuals personal savings account..
ReplyDeleteThat way;he can give his extended family,friends and well wishers all his personal savings if he likes;so long as the financial upkeep(in the joint account) for the family;especially your kids welfare remain intact..
If he exhausts his personal savings and come to you to lend him from yours;smile and tell him to be patient so when the next month profits come;he can get his own share and continue spending as he wishes..
He won’t stop giving his sisters;it doesn’t mean he loves you or the kids less;he just doesn’t understand priority or boundary yet;and for such people the only way they can learn is from experience;so allow him make that choice,so long as it is his own savings account and doesn’t in any way disturb yours..
If you try to come between them;you would become the devil who wants to destroy the bond a brother and sister shares..so allow him learn from his experience and give him a shoulder to cry on if he ever talks about spending or exhausting all he has on his extended family problems..so long as your own money no loss😉.
Navigating finances in marriage needs wisdom;not quarrels and fight,and do understand that handling of Inlaw’s is a big game;so play yours smartly and you make few enemies;in fact support him to give more from his own savings and you would be the best sister Inlaw to everyone,if they ask you for money personally and you don’t have to spare;give them words of encouragement then tell your husband so he can continue giving;then you would see how he would automatically take you as the best wife..
Hope this helps.
@MARTINS
If they only treated you badly then I would have said forgive them and move on. However, that their ill treatment extended to the children means they are bad to the bone. The children are related to them and they still treated them badly because you gave birth to them. Anyone who harms children are not ppl that I can ever trust, so you need to continue to protect your children and warn them about those aunts when they are older and able to understand.
ReplyDeleteYou love your husband and this is the real problem for you. The marriage is good in all other respects but these interlopers have come to muddied the waters. I beg of you, please stock and pile a financial cushion aside. Since you still love your husband, have you tried God? Have you prayed and fasted? Have you asked God to expose their true intentions to your husband? If you’re a believer then put God in the midst of this battle before you give up. I’m not a scripture person but other BVs can tell you which ones to activate. You should attempt to save your marriage before you throw the towel in. Those three sisters know why they have returned, you do not have the strength on your own to battle them, you MUST call on God to enter the ring and blast them back to the corners they came out of to reap where they did not sow and destroy what they did not build.
Remove the Nigeria part of story and this is EXACTLY my experience. I wish someone had told me to prepare ahead, nothing will change. Take what belongs to you financially and build… work hard. Disconnect emotionally,. Th
ReplyDeleteThis is why I’m not an advocate of pooling resources together. My advice to couples is to contribute an agreed percentage from each person to their joint accounts for bills/housekeeping, school fees and capital projects etc.
ReplyDeleteWhatever is left for each person is to be spent/invested as the person wishes to avoid situations like this.
Poster, pls split the profit coming from the business and only contribute to the joint account for housekeeping etc. Let him use whatever is left for him to do whatsoever he wishes.