Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Birthday Wish Of UK's Oldest Person Is To Have New Teeth

Monday, January 18, 2016

Birthday Wish Of UK's Oldest Person Is To Have New Teeth

Britain's oldest person - born when the Wright Brothers invented the first successful aeroplane - says she plans to celebrate with a slice of cake and a cup of tea.

Gladys Hooper will be joined by family and friends from across the country at
her nursing home in Ryde on the Isle of Wight for 113th birthday.

"I don't feel very different to when I was 75," said the former concert pianist.

Asked if there was anything special she would like for her birthday, her son said she had confided: "I wouldn't mind a nice new set of teeth".

Mrs Hooper only moved into the nursing home in October on doctors' orders after she became the oldest person to have a hip replacement.

Before that, she had lived in a flat connected to the home of her 85-year-old son, Derek Hermiston. Mrs Hooper was brought up in Rottingdean, near Brighton - she was a teenager during the First World War, and 36 when the Nazis invaded Poland and started World War II.

Mr Hermiston said his mother had witnessed the first shooting down of a German airship - downed during a bombing raid over London in 1916 by hero pilot Lieutenant William Leefe Robinson, who was awarded the Victoria Cross.

She was also good friends at college with Amy Johnson - the first female pilot to fly solo from Britain to Australia.

Mrs Hooper went on to be a concert pianist in London and played with famous band leaders of the time. She married in 1922 and her husband, Leslie, died in 1988. Mrs Hooper is also thought to have started London's first car hire company and later ran Kingscliff House School, now Brighton College.

Her son Derek, a retired pilot, said: "I am very proud of her, I have known her for quite a long time and I have seen her life when she was young, when she was a very agile person and always the centre of parties.

-Sky News

wow!!!!....113years old?...God is good!
I hope she got new teeth.......feel like hugging her!

42 comments:

1. Awww, this wish will cause a bit of pain to her.

HBD GBG, may the lord bless your new age, amen.

2. Wao wao! Brighton college my alma Mater.. Yayyyy!! **side eyes**

Anyway, abeg I no wan old sotey I no go fit waka go toilet o.. nah nah nah! Please God, as much as I want to live very long ehn, make e no be one wey I go begin wear diaper turn nuisance o.. Biko. Thank u Jesus.

But she seems to be coherent still.. but mehnnn.. she looks fresh tho. But she can't keep her neck up again. Eyah.. Bless her old heart.

Oh, and a happy birthday GBG. Bless u love

OK bye

2. New teeth for wat? She wants to take it to heaven ni? Hian!!! I think it's time go kicks the bucket tho coz soon she's gonna be like vegetable. Just saying

1. Jasmine u are utterly stupid and your Heart is bitter....no wonder there is still no joy and progress in your life....

2. Add no husband to it.

3. Awon fans mi...Welcome. The joy in my heart is over flowing, need some? Moron. @ 113, is she too young to die? Unintelligent mofo

4. Lol @jasmine I would have considered u for a wife but em... this your bad blood won't even get u a mad man.
      Mayb u wouud die first self before the old lady who knows?plz watch your tongue.
      Now u a low life copy cat copying lafresh with the awoj fans shit.
      Ain't u too old for that.

3. Aaawwww hey ya, it's funny Hw we turn bck to babies wen we get old

4. Wishful Thinking........Wanna Live 90Years

5. Let her wish come true so that she can eat turkey.

Congrats greatest grand mother

6. Happy 113th birthday to her.

7. This is so beautiful.

This woman is blessed.
    A walking compendium of history
    Ok, not walking.

Great woman

1. Supu oyibo!
      Speak it@Bona!! Lol

2. This my brother just scatter my d**k with grammer .

8. Old age is not even something to cuss someone with... We will all grow old someday.

Get grandma some sparkling set of teeth already!

9. 113yrs in UK.
    In nigeria we ve 133yrs+ sef
    Happy birthday in advance to UK's greatgreatgrandma.
    Shud I wish u longer yrs? If dts wat u wish for + ur new set of teeth, den u ve it.
    Just hope notin goes wrong afttaa d procedure wit age bfore dey sue doctor...

1. Where in Nigeria ? People that have higher life expectancy rate than us by 100%

2. J.Ice, let's take it easy with the figures inflation.

3. My thoughts exactly. Before they now look for doctor to sack.

4. The stress and suffer way dey here alone Na early death.

10. Waoooo congrats ma, I tap into this type of anointing for longevity.

11. Wow! No way she can get new teeth though

12. I hope she gets new sets too,..... Hbd

13. Grey hair the crown of beauty,I love caring for the elderly love to get wise counsel frm them

1. Come and see my granny's friend ehn, when she finishes u with gist u go tire lol. The mama can like to repeat her self already. She's over 90. But they are good companion when u are in the mood though.

14. Can her body take the pain of new set of teeth??

15. Hahahah mama is funny new teeth kwah? She is blessed not everyone is lucky to live this long.

16. Na wao oh
    Happy birthday to her

17. New set of teeth kwa, smh! Mbanu mama wish for another thing. Before some innocent doctor will be held responsible for....

18. The new set of teeth she's requesting for is called 'removable dentures' and not implants. It's to assist her chew her food. I pray she gets it and may the good Lord continue to be with her and her family.

19. teeth to eat corn ni now. no wahala