Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Warns ECOWAS Not Rush Into Single Currency

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

President Buhari Warns ECOWAS Not Rush Into Single Currency

President Muhammadu Buhari has warned the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) against rushing into currency integration. The regional body is targetting 2020 for the achievement of this goal.

In his speech at the fourth meeting of the presidential task force on the ECOWAS currency programme, Buhari said the framework for implementing the single currency agenda in the sub-region was not as dynamic as it should be.

He said the basic economic principles that should exist among member countries are still lacking, “which would for a fact stall the progress and successful launch of the agenda by 2020″. He alluded to the European Union’s challenges in achieving economic integration.

6 comments:

1. Wetin this one know?

2. The Monalisa portrait25 October 2017 at 09:46

Please leave my Naira for me... I don't know how that will work, but what will the currency be called now ? "Ecoira" or ?

3. The agenda will be a good one. Bubu is just scared that his brothers in the bureau de change will be run out of business and becomes jobless

4. If it was Ghanian president talking one will understand. But kicking against one currency when our naira is useless. I don't get it.