Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emergency Room Series: Cerebral Palsy.

Monday, February 12, 2018

Emergency Room Series: Cerebral Palsy.

I keep wondering why people make sickening decisions that sometimes comes back to haunt them.

A young boy was admitted to the emergency unit. I haven't seen a child look so sick before. The child was so emaciated, thin and pale looking. The palms and feet were oedematous and weighed just 10kg despite his age of 11years. He couldn't walk, talk, eat, poo or wee on his own. He was born with Cerebral Palsy.

The father claimed the child had been stooling for a few days and wasn't making enough urine. Did you give at least Oral Rehydration Therapy(ORS)? He said no and that they 'thought it would go' after giving him flagyl. A child shouldn't never be left unattended to when stooling. It affects them more than adults.

Anyway, we tried to get a vein to no avail. The veins had all collapsed due to severe dehydration. We tried everywhere, hands, legs, arms, nothing worked. We had to get blood samples from the femoral vein which is a big vein around the groin( penis area )

Finally we got a vein in the arm, he had fluids to rehydrate him. We had to be extra careful so as not to overload his weak heart. His test results came out to be fine, fair blood level, no malaria or infection and we didn't know why he was stooling because the parents said they didn't feed him anything unusual. It was only the electrolyte count that was very poor, which means the stooling had affected his kidneys and caused something we call acute kidney injury. 

He was also placed on oxygen because he was having 'Cheyne–Stokes breathing'. Its a type of breathing in which a person takes deep breaths and stops breathing and after a while starts breathing again and is characteristic of someone dying. 

After a while he started having epileptic seizures. It wasn't surprising because children with cerebral palsy usually have epileptic seizures.
He had some injections to stop the seizures but they didn't stop. Oxygen saturation began to drop rapidly, he started gasping and the heart stopped. 

His mother screamed and started rolling on the floor. We had to call security to send his parents out of the cubicle. We commenced CPR immediately. For about 20mins, we gave CPR, then we stopped. He was gone. We knew death was imminent. His prognosis was very poor from the beginning. Everything happened so fast. 

He died within two hours of being brought to the ER. 

When the parents were told, they were devastated but were a bit relieved he had gone to rest because the boy had been suffering all his life.

Cerebral Palsy is a neurological disorder caused by a non-progressive brain injury or malformation that occurs while the child’s brain is still under development in the womb. Cerebral Palsy affects body movement, muscle control, muscle coordination, muscle tone, reflex, posture and balance. Most children who have it might not be able to walk, talk, eat, poo or wee or learn on their own without special assistance. Some of them also have poor eyesight. 

The brain damage is permanent and irreversible and such children can only be cared for but can't be cured. Some of the children can gradually learn to do minor things on their own if they are rehabilitated in time. 

It is usually caused by a problem in the brain developing during pregnancy or a complication during delivery. In the case of this child, the mother said it was during delivery. She said she gave birth in a church and her labour was prolonged. Instead of them to take her to the hospital, they kept telling her to push. She said she gave birth in church because she had been trying to conceive for years and the family advised her to . The child was already hypoxic(lacking oxygen) when he was delivered and had to be rushed to a hospital because he wasn't breathing well and didn't cry at birth.

Obviously the lack of oxygen due to the prolonged labour had caused some level of damage to his brain. 

I felt bad for the parents because they must have been through a lot caring for him and he was their only child. The parents were not young either. The boy must have been suffering too. 

Pregnancy is a tedious process that requires a lot of physical, psychological and spiritual work and I dont know why someone will go through that for 9months and throw everything to the dust because of some religious or ethnical beliefs. Why do people deliver in churches, mosques and at home? It makes no logical sense to me. Why would you risk your life and your unborn child? 

Are the instruments they use there even sterile or clean. A lot of women have lost their lives while giving birth in religious homes and some develop severe complications later. Why is it difficult to deliver at an hospital or local health centre if one can't afford a private hospital. Its for your safety and the baby's.
There are so many children living with cerebral palsy around us. If you are a parent of a child with the condition, may God continue to strengthen you because it's not an easy task at all. 

Most of such parents don't work anymore so as to be able to care of the child at home. If you know anyone with such a child, please endeavor to show them love and care. Have a great day.

Jesus Christ!!!!..This got to me!!!

25 comments:

1. It's a pity. I feel their pain, God knows best. May his soul rest in peace.

2. OMG this is so sad. I feel so sorry for the parents.

3. Wow,and some people will still be complaining if they give birth to only boys or girls,instead of them to be grateful for giving birth to healthy babies and not also TTC for long. May the young boy RIP. I know the parents will be relieved .i hope God blesses them with babies in due time but this time around,i pray they birth in d hospital

4. So heartbreaking rip to the boy

5. How the little boy must have suffered, for him to weigh 10kg at eleven years. Pity! May his soul rest in peace.

Parents with special needs children are an incredible lot, they need all the support and encouragement they can get.
    I pray the Almighty give them the strength, patience and perseverance they need to take care of these children.

6. I hate that going to 'church' to give birth ehn, how foolish can someone be? At d end of d day, they'll rush mom n baby to a hospital. Hmmmm.

7. This story broke my heart. What ignorance have caused in this life yet they wont listen. So sad. Thank you Nurse for sharing your knowledge.

1. She never said she was a "nurse". A nurse cant have this depth of knowledge about this..
      She is a doctor ma'am.

This is how people insist on calling female doctors "nursu" all the time...

2. Obo, she's a nurse and works in Nigeria, she said so in her last post

3. Mz- Lynn. Its like you're dumb right? Do you also have the palsy? Obviously you haven't been following the series. The writer is a Nigeria based Nurse. Get over it!

4. Idiot anon, pls palsy isn't what u shld insult someone with. There are other insults pls

8. Heartbreaking!!! This is something that could have been avoided fa. We learn everyday sha. Thank you.

9. This story is so heart wrenching. May God console the parents. Ignorance causes a lot of harm.

10. Hmm I lost my nephew though his own started at 3 months,he was very healthy baby at birth, fever set in and seizure set in, damaged one part of the brain, for 8years handsome sweet boy could not sit alone, eat alone, don't even know what drinking water from cup is, doesn't walk, believe me taking care of such a child can be draining but we gave him 100% care, he became sick, vomiting up and down the dad is a consultant so he did all his best and he breath his last, we cried but happy that he has gone to rest cos that was no life. Like me have started taking folic acid oh heard it good for single girls that might soon marry it prepares the womb.

11. Stella I cn perfect related with this. My elder Bro die last year December cause of this. 28yrs.he could hardly do any tin on his own. We bath him. Feed him and do everything for him. Last yr the seizure was just too much. Non stop, we admitted him and anytime the seizure comes the doctors use a machine to stop it. We tried all we could. He was given birth to in the village years back, though we stay in lags now . My mom up till cry every day and I don't know what else to say to her.RIP bright, we love you so much.

1. Chai! May his soul rest in perfect peace, and may the good Lord comfort your mum.
      You guys tried for him, 28yrs?

2. Jesus for 28years of suffering, hoping the next day a miracle can happen oh you guys tried oh

12. Na wa o .Very pathetic. May God rest his soul. But it's difficult for me to understand the part of giving birth in a church...after years of trying for a baby. People get mind sha. ..

13. Sweet child, rest in peace.

Thank you for this article, dear writer.

Minister of Enjoyment and Social Jollification

14. So heart touching. May his soul rest in peace.

15. Eternal rest granted unto him O'Lord and let your perpetual light shine upon him.

May his soul and the souls of all the faithful departed...through the mercy of God rest in peace..Amen.

16. Ever since I gave birth to my baby,each I read something soul tearing like this,I feel like I'm choking. I just can't bear seeing or hearing anything happen to any child. God help us!