Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Model Alabi Adetutu Reveals Her Tribal Marks Drove Away Her Baby Daddy

Saturday, October 13, 2018

Model Alabi Adetutu Reveals Her Tribal Marks Drove Away Her Baby Daddy

Nigerian model to be with conspicuous tribal marks, Adetutu Alabi, in a recent chat with Saturday beat talks about the pains her tribal marks has caused her....

She revealed that bullying due to her tribal marks discouraged her from going for university education and also drove the Father of her child away.

She said, “I started modelling last year after I came out from my shell or hiding due to my tribal marks. The bullying started in my primary and secondary school days. Due to this, I learnt a skill instead of going to university.

“I was supposed to study law but I decided not to take the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination at all because I was scared of being bullied in the university. I believed that if I attended university, I might end up killing myself.

“Later, I had to ask my parents why they gave me these tribal marks and they told me it was because of our culture and to showcase my beauty.

“I didn’t feature in any of my primary school pictures because of my tribal marks and even though I had friends, I was always like a fifth wheel in the group. An embarrassing day for me was when a client told me to always conceal my tribal marks anytime I came to work with her. She eventually told me that she couldn’t work with me.”

Further speaking on the pain her tribal marks had caused her, she said some strangers had told her that she was ugly.

“Sometimes when I walk on the road, people would drag me, only to tell me I am ugly but I always ignore them because some people defend me,” she said.

The model further revealed that her tribal marks ended her relationship with the father of her child because he was ashamed of walking with her in public.

She said, “One of the reasons the father of my child absconded was because of my tribal marks. He could not be with me in public and he only made us meet at night; we dated for some months in 2008 and I got pregnant in 2009. I bore a girl for him and she will be nine years old this year.

“I felt I was the ugliest girl in the world. I got fed up with relationships because men didn’t always want to go out with me during the day; they would prefer to be with me at night. There was a guy I dated for two years and that was the condition of the relationship, so I had to endure.

“My mum died when I was four years old, so I grew up with a single dad. When I got pregnant, I had to run away from home to a foundation that accommodated me.”

Speaking on why she reached out to Rihanna, she said, “I was motivated to start the campaign when I woke up one day and saw that Rihanna posted a picture with a similar posture I assumed in one of my pictures and I have always been her fan.

“My goal is to model for her which I hope to achieve one day. I posted the picture and my friends reposted and retweeted it and the campaign began; that was it. I was very excited when she followed me back.”
From punch

32 comments:

1. But when baby daddy wanted to have sex with her the tribal marks did not discourage or drive him away.

1. na sharp sharp night runs na

2. I doubt its the tribal mark that scared the men away, judging from her persistence & obsessive nature to get Rihanna attention, she must be exhibiting same energy with her personal relationships with men, plus she probably has high class standard, "The best or nothing more"..... Rihanna probably followed her so she'd rest & not commit suicide on her head.
      There are ladies walking tall, married & proud with tiger claw marks! This one is associating all her problems to her face.

3. Me I love people with tribal marks, seriously. My dear Tutu Elepaz, I think u play the victim card too much. There are other self esteem issues u need to deal with and the sky is your limit. You are very hardworking though, keep it up

Happy weekend fam

2. This girl is beautiful na, those guyz are wicked and stupid.

3. We buy bad/condemned solar inverter battery contact us 0814139511313 October 2018 at 15:40

The guy no see the mark when him dey knack

4. Why do Yorubas and Hausas give tribal Mark to innocent children?
    One day a kid will stab their parents to death because of the insults they receive daily because of the tribal mark.

5. Why won't you go for university education bcos you were scared of been bullied. Wishing you all the best. But gaskia modeling is not for every body.

1. My thoughts exactly. I had number eleven on my face. I went to university and had the best of times. I personally didn't like my marks but a lot of ppl love it. It never affected my dating life even in the abroad. I had always being my own problem by not liking the marks so I started the erasing process and my marks are gradually disappearing.
      Thank God grandmothers have stopped poke nosing and deciding who should or who shouldn't have tribal marks. If my granny were alive i for sue her but I loved her too much sha😍.

2. dont mind her, shes playing the victim card. Ive seen worse marks and theyre fine and happy! Married and proud...

3. Oh please @Anony, you went to university and possibly abroad because your parents were privileged, or were there to instill the confidence, courage and value of education in you. Forget, everyone has their story and their journey. Her Mum died early, her Dad I'm sure did not put those values in her. Plus the bullying killed her self esteem. I am well educated yes, but its a gift for which I am grateful. Maybe if I was born into the wrong family, maybe I would not have valued education enough to pursue it. Glad she is telling her story. Pls lets not be quick to condemn and castigate all the time.

4. Anon 17:07 we are the same oo. Some people will even tell me if I wasn't given the mark I would be the most ugliest person on earth, though I hate it but people love.

6. Parents should stop this practise.

7. Yimu. Must she tell drastic stories and play victim just to trend. Rihanna has followed you now,oya rest.The man did not see the tribal mark when e wan enter abi?

8. Silly-Yeye guys. The tribal marks did not stop the Baby daddy from entering her kingdom

9. Hmmmmmmmmm🤔

Well may you get the breakthrough you seek.

10. Na wa, every day anoda tori. Abi you want to give her column her ni??? Maybe she can reach Aunty Rihannatu that way.

11. wicked parents...how can you tear someone's face like this . anyone in support of tribal marks and frowns on tattoo is a sick hypocrite.

12. You have to embrace it coz it's part of you now.

13. This her story get as em be and i will never accept her excuses.... how old is she? Maybe under 30. Alaafin of oyo's daughter here in houston is in her mid 40's and with very well pronounced tribal marks, shes a graduate of English from the university of ilorin. So she has no excuse. She cant go to uni bcos she doesn't want to be bullied but she can have a boyfriend do the do. Na she sabi

1. Well, she is not Alaafin of Oyo's daughter. Not same background, not same social economic class. Not same opportunities, not same privileges. Not same access to what many nigerians are denied. Now that she finally wants to create that opportunity by herself and for herself through modeling, una wan crucify her on top. This is just her story, not what she is right now.

2. Hahahahaa, imagine comparing someone whose mother died when she was 3 and whose father was most likely absent to Alafin of Oyo's daughter. She's most likely coming from a poor or from a middle class background with plenty self-esteem issues otherwise if she drive in with her brand new SUV, step out with sexy high heels, and that kind perfume that can buy your destiny. Who born the Nigerian man to say she no fine. Nigerian men that are the kings of gold diggers. E go dey flaunt am like purebliss wafers. Forget thing. She sef has probably been accepting losers too.
      When you think you are not good enough, you attract people who make you feel less than.

14. Pity party...

Socialmediaawardsng

To vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR

Text sma18 stella to 33352

15. It is easier to judge someone when you are not in their situation. She lost her mum who could have mentored her at an early age.Do not judge her pls.

16. Me dat I av 6 nko...3 by d side of my nose nd three at d oda side...tho my own is small small ones and u won't no until u move closer to me...ive forgotten i av marks...ive bn billed bt kilokanmi...I'm beautiful.People often say "y dem con give fine girl like you mark for face".... Im not moved!

17. She shld just move on and stop nagging abeg. She needs to be more focused and stop telling us how she was bullied all the time. Aha kilode, I will unfollow you o

18. I see nothing but a beautiful black woman. You are what you answer to, she needs to walk tall and embrace herself. I met a beautiful lady here in Colorado and I’m so mesmerized by her beauty and the way she carries herself. Who cares about the men, someone made for her and would love her the way she deserves.

19. Please parents should stop dissecting their children’s faces and say it’s all because of culture. Which culture? How many new generation children want to even associate with their culture. This her excuse no hold water sha. But personally her own type of Ogbomoso marks can scare kids away. I always avoid people with tribal marks because most of them I have come across are very mean.

20. Excuses,Excuses,Excuses. Madam its alright for you to ride on the victim card for chase of fame, but stop lying to yourself. You slept with a man who isnt married to you and wasnt ready to commit to you- and your facial mark was the excuse????????? Pleaseee...NEXT!

21. You people can say whatever you like because you have not fallen a victim of discrimination! He who wears the shoes knows where it pinches! Until it happens to you or someone very close to you , that's the only way you can feel her pain.

22. Does she look like some looking for a cheap fame? Why are you people like this? pls think before writing , it happened to her while growing up not now ! She could tell the story because of her achievements so far!