Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Omotola Ekeinde Talks About Her Experience In Ghana And Compares The Naira And Ghanaian Cedis

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Actress Omotola Ekeinde Talks About Her Experience In Ghana And Compares The Naira And Ghanaian Cedis

Nollywood Actress Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde was recently in Ghana and like other Nigerian celebs (turning into a bandwagon thing)who recently visited there,she has come with her own Observations and even compares the naira and cedis....

WOW the cedis is very strong !!!

55 comments:

1. We all know most African countries are far better than we are. Even the ones we helped. They should stop shouting about it, it changes nothing.

1. why shouldn't they shout???
      Since our leaders are forming blind and deaf, a little shout in their life is needed

2. This shouting is neccessary, we need more people to shout about it.

3. Its a sad something. Stella i went to UNiversity of Ghana in Legon as an undergrad in 2007, come and see school u will weep for out universities as a whole. White people illed there, interlocking tiles n hostels and main markets e.g Makola, see fountain in their hostels. I was gobsmacked.
      I went visiting for a week. I didnt sch there.
      Nigeria has been far behind Ghana for over fifteen years. I didnt experience power outtage d one week i was there. Their cabs nko?
      Please let me face d vlog im watching abeg and comot my mind from naija matter....

2. abeg keep calm.everyone bashes nigeria.how about our airport workers thaymt are honest in returning things misplaced.we are all quick to focus on the negative and praise others when it comes to naija affairs.every country got her own issues.be positive and do your part.bot by talking your country down.if they invite you all for award una no go fave government talk truth oh.you all run to SM to rant.nonsense n ingredient.

3. The fact that Ghana even has constant electricity
    Nigeria has failed and all our leaders present leaders should be jailed ..

4. Let areal Economist come explain to her

5. A real Economist should come explain to her what Ghana did to their currency

1. Ghana devalued their currency. After decades of high inflation devalued the new cedi, it was gradually phased out in 2007 in favor of the "Ghana cedi" at an exchange rate of 1:10,000. So 20,000 old cedis became 2 Ghana cedis. So Omotola's 120 Ghana cedis is actually 1,200,000 old cedis. Hope this clarifies.

2. Beautiful eagle,wat u typed just gave me mild head ache,and to think my mum was forcing me to be an economist.

6. Yes stella.. It is strong..

But things are fucking expensive...

Like so expensive..

But with time, i know they will adjust..

7. We got a cash gift of 15 cedis or so and when it was changed we got N12,000

I was so shocked! Naija! We have a long way to go especially with the wicked leaders that we have. Who did we offend?

1. dey fool urself. 15cedis equal to 12,000 naira. Lies no longer matter again as Lai muhammed don reboot una brains.

2. Hanty I am sure u wanted to write 150cedis..15ccedis to 12,000naira na lie

3. That's about 1,200 stop lying

8. Is it not people like you with alil influence that will get busy by visiting the Govt to discuss changes, holding peaceful riot but No!You chose to be loitering yasef from one award night to the other, celebrating followers on I.G like ya life depends on it.Nansenz!

9. shame on NIGERIA. A whole giant abi now zacchaeus of Africa
    Bbjac

10. Its very clear Omotola knows next to nothing about devaluation of money,Ghana devalued their currency some years ago and this has caused the prices of their goods to skyrocket.

You will surprised the tin of milk you buy for #200 here in Nigeria,by the time you go to Ghana to buy the same tin of milk will be costing #500 by the time you convert the cedis to Naira.

Devaluation doesn't favour the consumer, people should think before criticising,if you know nothing about economics,keep shut when it comes to currency policies!😎😎😎😎😎😎

1. I tell you. If she doesn’t understand something she should ask questions. See as she come online come embarrass herself. We are talking about currency and not nollywood.

2. This is what happens when an uneducated person open their mouth to speak on matters they know nothing about, Omotola what a shame, I am too weak to even start explaining.

3. So lady bug still get sense small? Daris good!
      What 10knaira can buy in Nigeria, if u convert it to Ghana cedis it won’t buy half of if. So it’s not about the numbers of d zeros behind d cedis but what is it worth?
      OmoT pls continue sampling bum bum ooo, as u no know anything

4. Thanks for educating those who don't know. Ghana has good amenities but Ghana is more expensive than Nigeria.The 10k Omotola is talking about can't feed her for more than a day. They devalued their currency doesn't mean there's no inflation.I live here so I know

11. Some of these guys are getting it all wrong.

Yes, we haven't lived up to expectations as Nigeria should but in 2007, Ghana they carried out redenomination and cancelled about 000 from their currency.

So then they had 10,000GH Cedi note which is now equivalent to 10 Cedi currently.

However, the true value is 10,000 Cedi but they lowered the denomination.

Imagine Zimbabwe which have about 100,000 note deciding to cancel the entire 5 Zeros.. and they now have 1 Zimbabwe note.

Will that make it better than naira?

What we should complain about is infrastructure and putting to good use our sales from crude oil.

Ghanaians suffer high tax rate and these cedis are not easy to come by over there. It's just because we dey carry our money go spend for that side. Go to Ghana broke and see what is means to be a Ghanaian.

1USD = 4.91425GHS

4.91425x1000 = 4914.25
    This would look like the true value of the cedi if they had not redeminationalized.

12. Na today..the naira is useless

13. She should save her rant, next time she’s lying on the bed with these politicians she can rant there. Onye ala.

14. I'm I missing something indeed.
    You're you not missing anything madam.
    On a more serious note though, it's such a pity.

15. God please help me escape from this shithole country....

16. 10,000 cedis= 1 Ghana Cedi.
    They rebased their Economy in 2007.
    When you're holding a Ghanian cedi, just add 4 zeroes to it and you'll understand exactly how it is. Their money lost so much value that they had to do so rebase.
    The #10,000 that Omotola exchanged for GhC120 is actually C1,200,000. Ten thousand naira is 1.2 million cedis. A quick search on google would help. Let's get this right.
    Cheers.

17. Ghana is far off i mean location wise.............Cotonou should be a another case study. Franc CFA, Nigeria economy is dead, i dont even know what to write sef i mean its alarming

18. Prof Charles Soludo proposed we knock off couple of zeros from our currency. Yardua's govt rejected it ( this is what Ghana did) so, instead of 1,000( one thousand naira) we will have N100:00( one hundred naira) The value still remain the same but less figures. So, if you change the value of 10k to CEDI's, the purchasing value remains the same in both countries.

1. So.. nothing has changed really, just lesser zeros.
      Makes sense.

19. First ask yourself what can be purchased with 120 cedis, then compare it with what can be purchased with 10,000 naira. Some of you guys need to be schooled. The cedi is not stronger than the dollar. Simply because they devalued their currency doesn’t make it the strongest of all currencies. Yes, they’ve gone far in development. Kudos to them.

20. Please all this one is just grammar.
    Will 'complaints' change anything?
    For frequent travellers, what fast moving goods can I buy in Ghana and sell in Nigeria?
    And what can I buy in Nigeria and sell off in Ghana?
    Na dat one concern me.

1. I laugh in Japanese... if only you know how they patronize Nigerians and sell in their own country.

2. How has this answered my question???
      If you like laugh in sign language.
      I'm looking for what I can buy and sell when I travel.
      Please sensible people with sensible suggestions.

3. They have nice beaded accessories and Ankara is of good quality.

21. There should be a course titled Basic Reasoning.
    And every undergraduate must be mandated to take it.

22. I heard that that things are expensive in Ghana.

1. Very expensive. 5k won't cook a good pot of soup here cause a kilo of meat alone is almost 2k

23. To those explaining the currency stop beating around the bush fact still remains ghana, Rwanda, Ethiopia, ivory coast are still ten times better than Nigeria ECONOMICALLY so all this nonsense you are ranting doesnt hold water. Why dont you explain how come ghana has constant uninterrupted light, cleaner airport and ALL GHANAIAN SCHOOL KIDS GO TO SCHOOL FOR FREE AND I MEAN COMPLETELY FREE AS IN FREE TUITION BOOKS, MEALS, UNIFORM, BOARDING HOUSES ETC.

Stay in denial and be ranting nonsense instead of coming up with solution for nigeria

1. You that you know so much come up with solution na.
      Abi is your brain congealed???

2. You are the one ranting nonsense..solution sefyou no bring out. Hiaan why so pained

24. Ghana devalued their Cedi that is currency redinomination. Meaning the money will appear strong (75naira is changed to 1cedi) but it's extremely weak. 1cedi is actually 1000cedi but they removed 3zeros.Their money is still bad but the sad part is the 247 electrity, it's actually provided to them my NIGERIA!. Shame on our govt

25. Enter your comment...Hello. what is value of a currency that has no purchasing power. A bottle of pet 0.35lt coke is 2.5 CEDI's which is around 225 naira. which one is better.

26. see all these foolosh people in denial
    truth hurts that ghana has a way better economy than nigeria
    why else do naija keep going to ghana
    i just hope tightens its immigration like south africa and weed out the criminals/419ers