Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Joke Silva Reveals Her Hubby And Colleague Olu Jacobs Is Battling With Dementia And Lewy Body

Sunday, November 21, 2021

Actress Joke Silva Reveals Her Hubby And Colleague Olu Jacobs Is Battling With Dementia And Lewy Body

Veteran actress Joke Silva sat down to an Interview with Chude Jideonwo and she revealed her husband Olu Jacob's health challenges and what they are going through as a family.......

"He is dealing with issues and it is been going on for a couple of years. It is known as dementia with lewy body.

“It is a degenerative disease that affects the brain and it is almost like a Parkinson type of disease, it affects the brain and affects the person.

“First time I'm saying this publicly… that is what we have been dealing…but the thing is, it is hard on him because he doesn’t understand what is going on and it is hard on us family members as well.

“We have gone through it over the past couple of years but we thank God.”

She continued: “We have gone through some times and situations recently that I wish I had the old him here so I don’t battle these times on my own but we are grateful for the moment of clarity. I miss the times we work together.”

The 60-year-old actress also spoke about finding out at the age of 10 that she was adopted when she was 9 months. According to her, she stumbled on the information by accident while rummaging through her mother’s documents.

“It’s something like where one is just getting to share it in the public. It is something that I found out when I was much younger. Mine was a secret adoption. It was not something that my parents discussed.

“My mum’s elder sister wanted me to travel with her to Kenya and my mother was not around. She asked if I knew where my passport was and I was like yes yes yes. I know where mum keeps all the important documents.

“Then I go to the important suitcase that has all the important documents, where I found my passport but also found my adoption certificate. It was like ‘I beg your pardon’. I was 10-11 at the time. It was a bit shattering.

“It was tough. You know how you’re very sensitive as a child. There was just something in it letting you know they would have discussed it with you if it was something they wanted to discuss.

“But I got to a point when I was able to discuss it, myself and my mum. What was interesting is that she found it easier to discuss it with my older son than she did with me. My mum wasn’t comfortable discussing it.”

90 comments:

1. This is not an easy thing at all...May God continuously strengthen them and make it easy... love and light to the Jacobs... I love them both ❤❤❤

1. Joke Silva that admits she's not homely at all, can't cook etc, how will she survive this?

2. Sound health in mind and body to him, oh Lord. May God make our old age easy and enjoyable.

3. Nurses
      Carers
      Attendants

Dementia is a different ball game
      It is not homely cooking of ewedu or sweeping house

That was why that elderly state NTA GM killed his elderly wife in his state of dementia when she tried to administer care and he saw her as an enemy trying to coerce him

The Nigerian mentality that falsely assumes that a wife is medical support

2. Strong woman.
    It's not easy at all.
    God please heal your son

1. I heard it is incurable

2. That's why the word "degenerative" was used @anon 11:04. It only get worse with time

3. Anon:11:04 There is nothing GOD cannot do.

Maybe medically nothing can be done.

4. Eyah. It gets worse

5. The life expectancy of individuals with dementia with Lewy bodies typically survive about 5 to 7 years and it varies.
      I wish them all the best because caring for lewy bodies patient is not easy holistically.

3. So sorry ma
    May God give you and your family strength at this time and miraculous healing to your husband

4. This is really tough for them
    I pray God see them through 🙏🙏

5. Joke Silver is a strong woman.
    May God continue to give this family strength to go through this phase.

6. DLB, God help him and all people around him cuz it's not easy. He'll do virtually every thing in reverse.
    Sit on the covered toilet to poo
    Shower until a full soap bar finish.
    Open tap, wait for water to dry out.

He just needs extra caregivers to follow him round the clock. Mummy Joke can handle this I can bet on that, she loves him deeply.

1. Yes, Joke can. May God strengthen her family.

7. I can't imagine what they are going through. The effects of old age scares me because you're focused to depend on others. What would happen to those who do not have family members to rely on?

8. Aw mahn! This must be devastating for their family. 💔
    Reading her saying she misses the old him breaks my heart, I pray they make the most of the times he’s his old self again. It’s always like when you switched a light on and off. One minute he’s there, the next he’s not (psychosis).

God bless him. 💛

1. Do you know what psychosis means ma'am?

2. Psychosis? It shouldn't come into your sentence, given the context. All in the name to sound smart

3. 11:11 Yes, Anon. I believe I do know what psychosis mean.
      With Dementia, there are times of black out, moments of aggression and seeing things that aren’t there. One minute they are their sweet old self, the next..

4. Perxian you're wrong. Just apologize and move on.
      Psychosis ko.

5. I have checked and found Perxian is correct. Psychosis is a complication of dementia. If only some you these anonymous could spare some time to understand or research points b4 attacking. Whats your problem with anyone's 'wokeness'? Is it your woke?

6. Ms Saphire and they usually go Anon to show their stupidity 🤣🤣

7. Individuals living with LB dementia may experience behavioral and psychotic symptoms (BPSD) during the course of their disease due to the alteration in processing, integrating and retrieving new information that accompanies dementia. So, psychosis is one of the symptoms.

8. Anons, google is your friend. Instead of attacking ,you guys should learn.

9. The attackers have gone quiet🤣🤣🤣

9. Awwww,this is so sad
    old age and sickness
    Thanks mommy Ajoke for loving your hubby endlessly.Stay strong.

My friends adopted baby is so adorable,she looks so much like her mother.

This brings me to the question
    When is the right time to tell a child he/she is adopted???

1. Maturity and circumstance will inform you when the time is ripe. It's not cast on stone.

2. When they are old enough to process it and secure enough in the love of the parents

10. Oh dear! Life issues..
    It is well with you sir Olu Jacobs

11. I love people getting old, but I hate the fragile state, I hate the dementia stage, hate the fact that some turn to a baby.. it's usually so emotional for me. Seeing someone up and going few years ago becoming so fragile. Old age is good , but it just scares me.. to think that my mum will grow old old old someday, same as my dad. And then they turn to my baby.. arrrgghhhhh

1. That's how life is when we get to a stage everything will start working in reverse😩 I'm scared for my parent too.

Create good memories with your love ones when they're healthy, it'll make the journey easier and bearable when they're frail and old.

2. Not all old people end up like that. My grandmother died at 102 yrs old and she still had her memory intact. Some are lucky ,while some are not. Your parents might fall into the lucky category.

3. Better to see them old than die prematurely, trust me...

12. I love people getting old, but I hate the fragile state, I hate the dementia stage, hate the fact that some turn to a baby.. it's usually so emotional for me. Seeing someone up and going few years ago becoming so fragile. Old age is good , but it just scares me.. to think that my mum will grow old old old someday, same as my dad. And then they turn to my baby.. arrrgghhhhh

13. Dementia shouldn't even happen to anyone Lord, I see Uriel's mum's video and I'm so weak, and say a silent prayer for UU and her siblings, it's more like baby sitting an adult, more like back to baby stage oh Lord, Lord I hear there is no cure for dementia, but you are God all by yourself the impossible are possible with you Lord, please Lord let your balm of Gilead heal Pa Jacobs, Uriel's mum and everyone suffering from dementia in Jesus name Amen. I really feel for Joke Jacobs I don't know how it feels, (olorun ko ni je ko kan wa loruko Jesus) may God give her the strength and also show her the process to his healing in Jesus name. It's well.

1. That girl is trying. Seriously whenever I see her pic, choii may God keep her strength and bless her.

2. In Uriel's case her mum isnt that old, she once posted a video of the mum's elder sister, she looked young and energetic. May the good LORD protect us from sickness.

14. Uhm!
    So sorry about what you are going through.I know that feeling.
    God will see you through.
    Please as much as possible, avoid situation that will make him sit in a position for a long time. It might bring bed sore.

15. Oh no😢😢😢 so sorry for the troubles ma. Thank God he's gat someone who truly loves him by his side

16. Dementia is not easy at all. I am so happy neither of my parents have suffered it. It is so difficult for the care givers. May our good lord grant them strength to handle this. It is well. Amen!!

17. Gosh! I know exactly what Joke and the family are going through right now and trust me, it is HARD! My granny had dementia before she passed and it was hard on us that were around her, but it was harder seeing her act completely like a baby; unaware of her environment, her loved ones etc.
    Auntie Joke,please just cherish every moment u have with him now.
    I pray God gives u and your family strength to go through this. It is well.

18. Such a strong and loving wife aunty Ajoke Silva is, more strength to you and your family. I pray healing into PA Olu Jacob's life.

19. I pray for u mam, may God see you through, dementia is very bad, my dad battled with it, lost memory, he lost weight,movement, God! Its really not something I wish on anyone exactly one year after he was struck with it, he passed on September this year.....I don't wish dementia on anyone taking care of it can be emotionally and physically draining

20. Awwwww, Dementia is an absolute leveller!! They won't even recognise their immediate family and friends on most days.
    God please continue to strengthen this family and lay your hand of healing on him.

1. This is what happens to some of those old women that ignorant people label as witch. They will leave home and start walking aimlessly around without knowing where they their house is or where they are going to. They will be saying gibberish and people will label them as witch. Some will even say they landed as a bird and turned to a human

21. After reading about this yesterday, I just couldn’t do anything for some hours. I felt so sad knowing what they are going through.
    Thank God he has a capable wife by his side to care and love him through it all. I trust her a 💯 and that is what has made me feel relaxed.
    When I see or read stuff like this, I just think about my parents and I pray to God to equip us the children to be there for them.
    May God strengthen the Jacobs, Amen.

22. It is well and God will make it easy. My dad has been battling with Dementia for six years with stroke. All they need is care. Its not easy on the care givers but if you love someone, you will go extra mile for them. Old age is scary but we all want to live long.

23. Thank God he is sorrounded by those who love and care for him. God, please strengthen the Jacobs.

24. This makes me think of those who don't have anyone by their side. Those who never got married, those who never had or couldn't have children, those who don't have supportive family members or friends. Oh God, please watch over these ones.

1. Those ones are the ones we see wandering about like mad person.

25. More strength to you ma'am. Healing to you Pa Jacobs

26. The Lord is your strength ma'am,God's healing hands rest on you sir.

27. It is well. Dementia is really bad. I saw a video of him trying to hand shake his wife 😥

28. Oh no! May God see him through it all and also strengthen you his family members.

29. Hmmmm old age is scary,what’s the essence of this life tho,live,hustle,bustle,suffer,enjoy,and before u know it one is gone or very fragile and sick,what is the real essence of life itself.gosh!!!

1. There’s no sense in it I’ve tried to make sense out of it still I can’t. Nobody’s daughter should bring me back to this world oo I take God beg una

2. If he was a chronic cheat now would be the time to go look for his side chicks and dash him to them

3. 13:15, this reminds me of my father in-law, the man was a womanizer,infact he abandoned my mil and went to live with one side chick, after some years he fell sick as old age came, side chick abandoned him and went away, people now started begging mother inlaw to take him back and care for him, hubby said never, let him go to his relatives in the village if he has no where to go. Hubby and his siblings really suffered when he abandoned them. Now mother inlaw has moved in with him, she does not have strong heart, the man has partial stroke and can't do much on his own but he can move around a little. Hubby has refused to send any money to them but some of his other siblings are sending stipends to them. Mother inlaw is now a shadow of herself. I am so angry at what she did, if it was me, I would abandon him, let his side chicks take care of him. The poor woman is now looking somehow from stress.

4. May the good LORD strenghten her

5. 14:46 your mother inlaw wants her inlaws to see her as a good woman who stood by their son.

Me I can't do it too. That is why I am just looking at this man jumping around now, he impregnated one girl last year sef. I make sure I take good care of myself and my children. So that when the time comes, they will know who to listen to. I'm just laughing at his ways now 🤣🤣🤣

6. Anon 14.46

Please talk to your husband. The decision has been made by your MIL. That man no matter what was her first love(perhaps), and still her husband. So let her be. Send her money if you have, it is your responsibility. So that it shall be well with you all oh. Please don't support him in starving her PLEASE OH.
      If you have the resources, get her a maid or househlp so that the task will be easwier for her. Thank you.
      EPH 6VS 2-3.

7. Most men whose wives have a disease do not bother to care for her. Many women in prison do not have visitors but men in awaiting trial custody sef have hordes of female relatives visiting with coolers of rice. It is amazing what the woes of a woman are.

30. Hmm,it is well, they are going through a lot.

31. Those saying 'old age'.Illness can affect any one whether young or old,it's not 'an old age thing',same way people die;old or young.There are very many healthy old people.It is not even the will of God for us to be ill,He said 'even in old age we will still be bearing fruit,we will be fresh and flourish" Psalm 92:14, that's His will for us.I personally don't think there is anything as an old age disease or sickness that comes with old age.It isn't my portion cos it isn't the will of God for me.Anyone can fall ill, young or old,I have seen younger ones go through things like this.

32. May God heal Olu Jacobs. Joke Silva is indeed a strong woman. I wonder if Olu Jacobs can be getting roles in Nollywood. I love the way he usually interpret his igwe roles. May God heal him.

1. Are you a kid? Go and Google dementia, read people read. After reading, then come back and tell me if he can act any role in a movie

33. This is so sad. May God heal him. More strength to you Joke Silva. I can imagine what the family is going through now.

34. This is so sad. One of my best veteran actor. Lord please take care of him and do what only you can. Mama Joke, the Lord is your strength. It is well.

This life sef...

35. Eh hen! All you small girls marrying your ancestors I hope you are ready for the end result. E go red. When you are in your 50’s vibrant and youthful and your husband is in his 80’s una go hear am. 😂

36. This is definitely a very stressful and tough time for their family, Strength to the Jacobs. It's sad to see him aging this way but thank God he has all his loved ones beside him.

37. I pray God heals Sir Olu Jacob. I don't believe any sickness is incurable...

I have been thinking about this since last night. Indeed long life, prosperity and sound health is a gift from God..

My Grandfather lived above 90 years in sound health, was still riding his bicycle and tree climbing.. Hmmmm..

I know there must be an undiscovered remedy for this. I pray God opens my eyes and the eyes of people to see and know this remedy... So that people can have joy in their old age..

I pray for the healing grace and mercy upon Sir Olu Jacobs and all who are passing through this in their families. May they have a divine testimony in Jesus name 🙏

38. At least she has the happy memories to hold her through this. It must be devastating to see your loved one go through something like that, forget completely who you are and who everyone is while deteriorating daily.

I wish the family all the best.

39. Sadly degenerative diseases are self inflicted due to wrong lifestyle, unhealthy diets, execisive alcohol, lack of exercise which leads to chronic inflammation in the body. There is many clinical research about longevity, we can grow older without any disease or pains, we chooses healthy diets, excercise,reduce stress and our connection to nature is very healing and reduce toxic in our body like electric magnetic fields which are toxic to our cells, mitochondria and brain cells abilities to eliminate plague/beta amyloid, the main driver of Dementia/alzheimers.

1. This is anlie. My aunt had dementia before she died and she was straight as an arrow in her lifestyle .