Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Defends Passport Price Hike

Saturday, August 30, 2025

Nigerian Govt Defends Passport Price Hike

The Federal Government of Nigeria on Thursday, defended the upward review of Nigerian passport fees to N100,000 and N200,000, saying it was necessary to sustain quality, curb corruption, and ensure timely delivery of travel documents.

The Nigeria Immigration Service, in a statement signed by its Public Relations Officer, ACI AS Akinlabi, announced that from September 1, 2025, applications made within Nigeria will attract new fees of N100,000 for the 32-page, five-year validity passport and N200,000 for the 64-page, 10-year validity passport.

“The review which only affect Passport Application fees made in Nigeria, now set a new fee thresholds for 32-page with five-year validity at N100,000 and 64-page with 10-year validity at N200,000,” the statement read.

The NIS, however, said Nigerians in the diaspora will continue to pay $150 for the 32-page, five-year passport and $230 for the 64-page, 10-year passport.
The increase comes barely a year after the Federal Government approved an earlier adjustment in August 2024.

The Minister of Interior, Dr. Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, has defended the new hike.
Speaking in Abuja during the ministry’s mid-tenure performance retreat, Tunji-Ojo said the hike would ensure timely delivery of passport and eliminate corruption,

He said, “Our target is very clear: within one week of enrolment, every Nigerian should have their passport in hand. Not just delivering quickly, but delivering quality passports that reflect our integrity as a nation,” he said.

He noted that the new system was designed to eliminate long delays and extortion.

Punch

15 comments:

1. My passport expired since Nov 2024 I've been procrastinating about renewal. Now this price hike. Hmmmm

1. Procrastination is always expensive.

2. Hmmm, thank goodness I did mine last year before all these increase. I paid 70k pere for 10years.
    I pray it fulfills the desires for which I got it before it expires.🙏

1. Ah congratulations. I’ve been procrastinating getting my child a passport

2. Lucky You,I paid 145k same last Year for 10years and my Contact claimed it's becos my 5years had 8 Months before Expiry.
      Ironically Nigerians will still pay for it when needed

3. Is this not wickedness? It seems they are trying to make it to be only for the rich or elite. What exactly have we gained from this government? The people bear the brunt of the excessive life they want to continue living. Task masters. Wetin dem go increase tomorrow?

1. You need financing to maintain a worldwide database and real-time update system that is as hacker-proof as possible. You need money to print these pages at the mint as they are currency-grade. You need money to make these services available in Nigeria and over a hundred embassies and diplomatic stations across the globe. You are paying money that amounts to about 30 dollars per year for that of 32 pages or 5 years meaning less than 3 dollars per month for the period of holding- this is less than what those who require passports spend on data or coffee for the month. It may be cheaper in other countries where higher taxes allow for services to be affordable when taxes are high. In our own case, less than 10 percent of Nigerians will ever acquire a passport, is it fair to pass that cost to them and their 70k a month?

When the passports were cheap, did we not pay more in frustration, bribes and wait times? With this new system, no one can hold up your application process or frustrate you. Everything is time-stamped and in the cloud. I remember when a crooked officer told me my original application was missing with only the photocopy in my file years ago, only to discover it after 20k. To spell names correctly meant another like 5k.

You get what you pay for. Things are challenging, yes. But these kind of reforms are needed. Even in some countries in Europe, passport costs, immigration stamps, etc have gone up.

4. Those are some expensive passports.

5. The increment is too much and I don't believe the timely delivery bullcrap

1. Ask those who have applied for renewals in the last 2 years. Olubunmi Ojo has been marvellous in delivering service unless we want to lie.

6. I'm learning how to do importation from china, so there is a stage where international passport is needed for verification. Omen no body one give me there passport to use I don beg Taya. I was planning to do my own passport. Now where I go get the money now. God help your daughter o

1. If you are legit, I can give you mine to use but please no fraud.

2. NEVER USE SOMEONE ELSE'S IDENTITY TO DO ANYTHING. NEVER GIVE UP YOUR IDENTITY FOR ANY CLOWN LEARNING IMPORTATION AHEAD OF SENSE FIRST.