Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer Shina Peters Narrates PR Trick He Used To Win Back Fans After He Got Them Upset

Sunday, October 26, 2025

Singer Shina Peters Narrates PR Trick He Used To Win Back Fans After He Got Them Upset

Ijo Shina.......eh Shina.....

Afri juju legend Sir Shina Peters recently shared a wild story  about how he turned around a wave of hate and won back the love and support of his fans....

He said that in the late '70s, he left Prince Adekunle’s band to go solo, and fans were furious. They called him a traitor, protested, and turned their backs on him. Radio stations and media shunned him and it felt like his career was over...

But guess what?? Sir Shina had a plan with his label boss Tunde Savage and some media pals.
He faked a mental breakdown.
He dressed in tattered clothes and went wandering through Lagos markets like Oshodi, acting distressed. Cameras caught it all. 

He wandered to a construction site in Badagry, and played the “lost” vibes even more. The footage leaked, and suddenly, the story changed. People stopped hating and started worrying about him.

It worked like magic. Fans forgave him, media opened up, and his music—starting with the hit album Ace—took off, selling millions. Sir Shina laughs about it now at 67, saying, “It was crazy, but it did the trick.”

on The Honest Bunch podcast

Afro juju
iwo le jo
emi lo jo

14 comments:

1. Wow! It's good to be good at what you are doing so that you will be able change leg when the music changes sound😅
    Weldon singer Shina Peters, keep living😘

2. Chai see format ooo🤣🤣🤣

3. Wow,.he is being so honest. Good it worked for him

4. Oluwashina Peters,my all time fave
    Dance,dance,dance and foget your sorrows🎵

1. The same trick they use now. They also add hospital to it now.

6. Shina Peter's can do no wrong in my eyes

7. How do we know if he was lying then or lying now 😃

1. This is the comment I was looking for.

8. That emotionally blackmail strategy works all the time. 😛🤪

9. Biko help us ask him,what cameras caughf him everywhere in the 70s ??? Ticktock,faceboot,instagram,Twiiter or Thread.....abi na Hint magazine carried cameras on him everywhere?? Na question I ask oo cos I am not understanding 🤔🤔🤔

1. Even his age no football.

2. you are young and don't know that there were video cameras and journalists roaming the streets looking for news in Nigeria in the 70s, Google is still free for you to check instead of showing your foolishness here

10. Okay now. I am old enough and can't recall any of that happenning. Anyway, I'm a fan of your music.