Every marriage is a reflection of the quality of the couple in it. Every couple is a reflection of the kind of home they each grew up in. Quality people, beget quality marriages. Quality marriages result in quality people. A chicken and egg scenario.

Last week, I took you through the kind of home I grew up in and the kind of marriage my parents had. This week, I'll let you in on the drastic impact it had on me and my siblings.
I'll drop this shocker. My dad was a fervent believer and a tongue speaking Christian who woke up to pray every midnight for over 25 years. He later became a pastor and headed a church. His members saw him to be a committed believer on fire for God but at home, we knew different.
Growing up the way we did in a home with a violent dad who was a pastor, did one thing. It pushed us kids far from anything religion. None of my siblings want anything to do with church or religion today. As a teen, I sought out the roughest boys in the neighbourhood and started rolling with them. We'd drink and smoke together but try as much as I did, it was clear even to them that I was the odd one out. It was obvious that I wasn’t cut out to live like them but they didn’t push me away. They were my escape from the emptiness at home or so I thought.
We may not really know how much of our personalities get shaped by our backgrounds until we find ourselves displaying characters and behaviours we didn’t know we had picked up from home subconsciously. Characters and behaviours we hate. I became a woman beater too unfortunately. The first woman I dated was coming from a far more damaged background than I was. While I thought a man needs to beat a woman to exert authority and command respect, she thought a man who doesn’t beat a woman doesn’t truly love her.
I began to notice a pattern. Anytime I beat her, she’d get so turned on and dripping wet. I didn’t understand what was going on until a particular incident where he had a major brawl and I was beating her. She was loosening my belt, trying to pull down my trousers to give me head. I pushed her away in anger and disgust and the next thing I knew, this lady gave me a well-targeted headbutt. I saw stars and my nose opened up like a tap.
In rage, I br*tally ass*ulted her in a way I never did before. Blood everywhere and yet, all that seemed to turn her on the more. We did end up having deranged sxxxxxxx that afternoon but I quit the relationship months later. That level of crazy was too much for me to handle.
I had become the very thing I hated my dad for. My ability to communicate properly in a relationship was nil. Anger and rage was a garment I wore. Respect for women was totally non existent. If I wasn’t hurting a girlfriend through words, actions or sometimes beatings, I would feel so out of place and unsettled. And a good number of ladies went along with and accepted that. But I could see the toll my mom’s experience with such had on her and I wasn’t able to stand the kind of man I was becoming. I had to stay off dating for years.
Thank God for that woman.
She noticed the seeds my dad’s violent nature at home had planted in me and drew me close to start working on me. She’d point at the empty space in her teeth and remind me that my dad did that and she knows I would not want to turn out to be that kind of husband. She made me take an oath never to lay my hands on any woman again. I haven’t broken that oath in over 18 years. Last week made it 17 years since dad died. She still cries every time his posthumous birthday comes up. I guess her generation was wired to love differently.
I am married with kids now. I won’t say my home is perfect by any means. But I know domestic violence is one thing that will never happen in this home. My kids are growing up to know me as a loving father to them and husband to their mom. Their experience has to be different from mine.
This takes a serious level of intentionality and commitment but taking it daily as it comes makes it easier. There is always going to be some part of us that is weak. We don’t feed it. It helps to marry someone who makes marriage easy for you. There are certain issues you won’t have to deal with as a result. Demons of the past can remain there.
Our backgrounds don’t have to define us. We can choose to be different and give in abundance the love, care, warmth and affection we never had growing up. We must be very intentional about this. Our homes, our marriages or relationships will only respond to the seeds we sow. By all means, let them be good seeds. We will enjoy a better quality of life and relationship as a result.
Wow. Very interesting. Thank you for sharing Doggetty because it gives hope and teaches that a person can change once there is self reflection, the will to change, commitment, right actions and most of all by the grace of God. God continue to bless you and your home.
ReplyDeleteThank God you kept to the oath, if you hadn't redefine yourself and pray not to be a woman beater, you don't know how your life would have turned out by now.
ReplyDeleteHmmmm
ReplyDeleteHmmmm,wow! What an interesting long reading and nodding of head, Weldon Doggy,thanks to your mum who helped to shaped you to be a better man today
ReplyDeleteAnd thank God that you adjusted for life if not...🙄
May God continue to bless you and your family with more love Amen 🙏
Excellent write up!!!!
ReplyDeleteOne key thing I picked from ur story is that you noticed that something was wrong with you and thanks to ur mum, you immediately started working on urself.
Thank you for this raw honest piece. Yes ppl can change and turn over a new leaf, and many humans are successfully doing this everyday. I am glad that you consciously decided to change and have never returned to your old ways. Your story highlights that no woman can change a man through their love, only that person can change themselves through their own choices. Too often heartbreak and terrifying relationship experiences come through this notion that ppl believe that their love will fix someone or heal someone. Half the pain of unfulfilling relationships would end if adults just stop believing this. While another individual can inspire change, real resounding change that happens at the core can only come through the conscious efforts and commitment a person makes towards changing.
ReplyDeleteI have been saying for years that domestic violence in church leadership is a subject not discussed often enough. It happens more than ppl think. Since dv is a secretive occurrence tied up in shame and disbelief it remains a deep secret swept under the carpet. I wish one church day the victim would just show up with their bruises plainly for all to see, but this level of courage is not for everyone. The secret keeping must stop, the makeup wearing and sunglasses hiding the eye punches should be taken off. Let the world see the raw face.
Beautiful post. God bless you for this.
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteOh dear 😳..
ReplyDeleteI used to have a friend back in the day, whose love language was being beaten by her man. If she's in a relationship and the guy is not beating her she ends it. One day, i asked her why and she said the beatings turn her on, i just couldn't relate. Na so i start to look her somehow.
ReplyDeleteTo be beaten is not a love language, your friend is just messed up .
DeleteAs usual I enjoy your write up,
God bless you
Therapy sessions can rescue her messed mindset.
DeleteI pray she's fine with complete features wherever she is.
Doggedity you summarized well.
God bless your family.
Xhlrted P
❤️ self awareness is the key
ReplyDelete@DOGS Corner, your opening paragraph is spot on. When people complain about their marriages, they often forget that the roots of their choices lie in their upbringing - the habits, silences, and traumas that shaped them long before the habits they picked up as they get older and say “I do.”
ReplyDeleteThis concluding part of your story hits just as hard as the first. It’s raw, unsettling, and deeply necessary. Like I mentioned last week, what you’ve written isn’t just a confession; it’s a mirror. A reflection of a generation raised on fear, abuse, and religious camouflage. Where bruises were covered with Bible verses and hypocrisy passed for holiness.
I respect your courage for highlighting your family's vulnerability. You’ve written what many are too ashamed to admit: that violence doesn’t just bruise bodies - it conditions minds. Sons learn to roar instead of reason, and daughters mistake pain for proof of love.
The honesty in your words cuts through all the optics and pretence we see cloaked in religion. What stands out most is how easily violence becomes inherited, not by blood, but as illustrated in your story. How a man raised under the tyranny of "righteousness" can unconsciously become his father’s echo. A pastor’s house was filled with prayer but starved of peace. Nothing captures hypocrisy more vividly.
And you, standing in the ruins, choosing to rebuild differently; is an admirable redemption in its truest form. Quietly happens deep within when a man decides the cycle ends with him. Your mother, scarred yet strong, laid that foundation, and you honoured it.
ReplyDeleteYour story tears through the illusion that religion reforms character. It reminds us that spirituality divorced from love and empathy births monsters in holy garments. If you've ever housed trauma within, you'd understand that healing is rarely poetic; it's life by itself, messy, shameful, and full of self-confrontation.
Your self-awareness saved you. You didn’t justify your past; you faced it. That kind of choice is rare, but necessary. It helped redeem you into who you become, and realigned you into the vision of the kind of family you choose to have.
You’ve shown that it’s possible and doable. That real love, like peace, is learned too. And that’s something every child of chaos should understand: we don’t choose our childhoods, but we can choose what survives from them.
Thumbs up @Doggedity.
ReplyDeleteThanks for sharing this. I pray that God will continue to keep your home and help you to be the best husband and father you can be.
ReplyDeleteThumbs up @Doggedity.
ReplyDeleteThankGod For Change 🙏
ReplyDeleteGod Bless Your Mum 🙏
"Nnebuifeukwu", Truly and thats My daughter's name .
ReplyDelete😁☺️
DeleteCheeky smile.
You people have reinvented another one.
Nnebundu.
Kodilinnem
Nnediuto.
Nnenne. This one is old school.
Any one who calls me Nnenne, I avoid their lane.
Automatically 🥺
Like Baby na Bomboy. Ok. See.Bomboy is late, dem still dey call me Baby. Aarrgghh! 😳
Xhlrted P
Wow. Very insightful. Thank you for sharing
ReplyDeleteThank you for sharing your story.
ReplyDeleteIt was a good thing that you saw that there was an issue and worked on it. We deserve better, so do our spouses and kids.
It's well with your home