Wahab Okoya, son of billionaire Razaq Okoya, has come under heavy criticism and trolling after saying Nigeria is “better” now compared to three years ago. His comments sparked outrage online, with many accusing him of being out of touch due to his privileged background.
In a YouTube interview, Wahab Okoya stated:
“If you compare Nigeria of three years ago to Nigeria of today, we’re getting better. I know it’s because you guys live in Nigeria, but for us that go to school and come back, like when I come back, the change is so visible. We are not giving our government credit because it’s hard, and they are really trying.”
Well in a way he may be right to an extent cos the last time i visited Nigeria, I was shocked at the modern things i saw, shocked at the clean road and orderliness in some places.....Shocked at modern eateries as well...You wont understand it until you are out of Naija for a while....

Chai
ReplyDeleteHe can’t even relate at all
His definition of Nigerian being better is exactly what you wrote big sis. New eateries, new houses and structures and new bridges.
The average man definition of the country getting better is buying fuel cheap, getting good amenities, buying food stuff cheap in the market, having good health care and prompt security.
You are so right!
Delete"We're getting better", how Wahab. Hooooow?????
ReplyDeleteNa silver spoon kid him be. He can't relate at all. Make una pardon him
ReplyDeleteNepo baby talking wetin omokekere sabi
ReplyDeleteHe does not know what he is saying.
ReplyDeleteWhat does he know?
ReplyDeleteThere are efforts, even though the problems are enormous but there visible progress.
ReplyDeleteLol. Nigeria is 10 times worse than it was 3years ago. Wahav lives in a bubble. Only we that live in the real Nigeria knows how bad it has become.
ReplyDeleteNepo child
ReplyDeleteI felt the same way when I visited Lagos last December, after 4 years of being away.
ReplyDeleteI agree with him on that. Let’s learn to give govt - state - their credit when they do well.
Ridiculous. Good road,eatery blah blah blah. So thats how they measure getting better in your village?
ReplyDeleteNo we use the HDI how many people have the basic neccessities of life. Dont say this tin again o
Awwwwn,Nepo baby and his definition of getting better