Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday Breakfast Post.....

Saturday, November 23, 2019

Saturday Breakfast Post.....

Jollof Rice on a Saturday Morning?YES,with a cup of Latte Machiatto.....

Nigerian Jollof Rice Recipe

Photo credit :@tspiceskitchen..

I always per boil Rice and wash off the white water because it very important to do so....Dont just wash Rice and begin to cook,please make sure you boil for some miniutes and wash thoroughly....

41 comments:

1. I am already having my breakfast at the moment.

Bean and plantain porridge, beef a glass of cold water to wash it down.

2. Have you ever try cooking porridge yam with biscuit bone, try that and thank me later.

3. Beans and yam. Heavy food. What should I do nothing. I manage it am

4. I learnt to parboil a long time ago to wash off the excess starch, even if it is white rice or fried rice, It must be parboiled.

5. I can't cook rice without parboiling too. Especially all these imported rice with a lot of preservatives and chemicals.
    My breakfast this morning will be left over fried rice and chicken to wash it down with cold bottle of fanta.
    Lunch will be amala and ewedu.
    Dinner will be just hot water mix with lemon. As I dey watch my weight

1. After you don enjoy yourself finish you still dey push talk about weight watching 😂😂😂

6. It's a moin moin and pap morning.

7. Yummy jollof rice,this is the best method of cooking jollof rice.Stella once you wash rice to get rid of dust and what not,you don't need to boil for a bit and wash again.You get rid of the nutrients doing that.

1. nutrients indeed...u beta read well before u start spreading fake news.check google

2. Sdk madam I too know. She's right.

3. You're right and you can also rinse thoroughly with hot salt water

4. You're right and you can also rinse thoroughly with hot salt water

5. @ black girl you are very correct. I stopped per boiling my rice long ago. I only wash thoroughly with salt especially when I’m making jollof and coconut rice. By the way I’m a caterer.

6. Stella this could be perfume rice. You don't parboil basmatic and Indian jasmine rice. You only wash with water and salt.Hahaha even called it fake news🤣🤣🤣

8. Who here likes brown beans? All my 20something years on earth i have been missing this appetizing wonder.

Can somebody here tell me something about brown beans I haven't heard before. OMG!

9. I can’t do without parboiling my rice cos I grew up seeing my mum do it and I just can’t do it differently.
    Making akara for hubby and I to be taken with custard

10. Sachet tea, sachet Milo and agege bread to the rescue

11. This comment has been removed by the author.

12. Exactly Stella. I can't imagine just cooking my rice straight like I normally do see without par boiling first!!
    Again, why do people mix tin tomato paste with fresh tomato in stew or jollof mix?? I only use fresh tomato most times or only paste when I don't want to use fresh not mixing the two.🤷
    Eating my okpa di oku with hot coffee tea for the am.

1. Not par boiling makes the rice to start burning when it's not done yet.I also par boil, can't shout.

Just finished my tea and bread with egg sauce

13. Okpa with juice.. i can't kill my self trying to maintain my shape!!

14. Abeg make una keep una jollof rice. Had pap and akara for breakfast

15. Thank you Stella. It's very important to first boil the rice and wash. It helps in reducing the starch.

16. pleasant surprises23 November 2019 at 10:05

Had Green Tea , bread and fried egg already.

17. I just had Ginseng tea, bread and fried egg.

I don't parboil my rice for jollof/fried rice but I do so for white rice.

18. If you parboil rice before jollof or fried rice it gives it totally different taste , you'll never get the real jollof rice taste.So wash your raw rice with plenty of salt before cooking.Once I see any one parboil rice before cooking jollof rice I lose appetite.

1. One I see the one NOT parboiled and washed, I vomit.

2. Very true at different taste if you parboil before cooking. I'm a caterer and I've tried both methods.

19. You are right. The taste is never the same. Best thing is to wash with salt.

20. You are right. The taste is never the same. Best thing is to wash with salt.

21. Had beans and moimoi for breakfast

1. Beans and moi moi ke?
      I had just pap for breakfast I wasn't patient enough to make akara.